Editor’s Note: CSK Awards Celebrate Fifty Years

Sharon Verbeten


The world was a very different place in 1969 when the Coretta Scott King Award was instituted to honor African-American authors. Dr. Martin Luther King had recently been assassinated. And there was no organized group to advocate for We Need Diverse Books.

But, thankfully, several librarians and a book publisher came together to establish the CSK Award, which will celebrate its fiftieth anniversary in 2019.

Full Text:


DOI: https://doi.org/10.5860/cal.16.4.2


  • There are currently no refbacks.

© 2022 ALSC

ALA Privacy Policy