GODORT Awards Summaries and Deadlines

James Bennett Childs Award

The James Bennett Childs Award is a tribute to an individual who has made a lifetime and significant contribution to the field of documents librarianship. The Award is based on stature, service, and publication which may be in any or all areas of documents librarianship. The award winner receives a plaque with a likeness of James Bennett Childs.

Deadline 12/9/22

ProQuest/GODORT/ALA “Documents to the People” Award

The ProQuest/GODORT/ALA “Documents to the People” Award is a tribute to an individual, library, institution, or other non-commercial group that has most effectively encouraged the use of government documents in support of library service. The award includes a $3,000 cash stipend to be used to support a project of the recipient’s choice. This award is sponsored by ProQuest.

Deadline 12/9/22

NewsBank/Readex/GODORT/ALA Catharine J. Reynolds Research Grant

The NewsBank/Readex/GODORT/ALA Catharine J. Reynolds Award provides funding for research in the field of documents librarianship, or in a related area that would benefit the individual’s performance as a documents librarian or make a contribution to the field. This award, established in 1987, is named for Catharine J. Reynolds, former Head of Government Publications at the University of Colorado, Boulder. It is supported by an annual contribution of $2,000 from the NewsBank Inc.

Deadline 12/9/22

Bernadine Abbott Hoduski Award Founders Award

The Bernadine Abbott Hoduski Founders Award recognizes documents librarians who may not be known at the national level but who have made significant contributions to the field of state, international, local, or federal documents. This award recognizes those whose contributions have benefited not only the individual’s institution but also the profession. Achievements in state, international, or local documents librarianship will receive first consideration. The award winner receives a plaque.

Deadline 12/9/22

Margaret T. Lane / Virginia F. Saunders Memorial Research Award

The Margaret T. Lane / Virginia F. Saunders Memorial Research Award will be given annually to an author(s) an outstanding research article in which government information, either published or archival in nature, form a substantial part of the documented research. Preference may be given to articles published in library literature and that appeals to a broader audience. The award is not restricted to articles in library journals. This award is to honor the memory of two women who worked with endless enthusiasm to make the ideal of citizen access to government information a reality. The award winner receives a contribution of $1000 from Readex Newsbank.

Deadline 12/9/22

The Larry Romans Mentorship Award

The Larry Romans Mentorship Award is given annually by the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) and the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association. The purpose of the award is to recognize librarians who, through their sustained mentoring efforts, have made a difference in our profession. Each year, the award will honor a librarian who has demonstrated excellence in the area of mentoring, who has successfully encouraged others to serve as mentors, and who has impacted the lives and careers of others through tirelessly devoting time, energy, and talent toward helping others succeed in our profession. The award consists of a citation and $1,000. The award will be presented at the GODORT Awards Program at the ALA Annual Conference. In addition, recognition of the recipient will also take place at beginning of the Stonewall Book Awards Program held at the ALA Annual Conference.

Deadline 12/9/22

W. David Rozkuszka Scholarship

The David Rozkuszka Scholarship provides financial assistance to an individual who is currently working with government documents in a library and is trying to complete a masters degree in library science. This award, established in 1994, is named after David Rozkuszka, former Documents Librarian at Stanford University. The award winner receives $3,000.

Deadline 3/1/23

For information on nomination procedures, please visit https://www.ala.org/rt/godort/awardscommittee.


  • There are currently no refbacks.

Copyright (c) 2022 American Library Association

© 2022 GODORT

ALA Privacy Policy