GODORT invites nominations for 2021 Awards

“What a great project—I know I’ll be passing this information along to my colleagues!” “I wish I had thought of that research topic!” “I wouldn’t be where I am today if not for his mentoring and support!” “Wow, she knows everything about GODORT!”

If you have ever thought one of the above, then you know someone to nominate for an ALA Government Documents Round Table award!

Every year GODORT honors people who have made huge strides in the promotion and use of government information through its awards. There are now seven opportunities to nominate or apply, all described here: http://www.ala.org/rt/godort/awardscommittee, where you will also find links to all the nomination/application forms. The award information is also listed below, including a description of the Larry Romans Mentorship Award, awarded in conjunction with the Rainbow Round Table.

Please apply using the forms on the Awards page at http://www.ala.org/rt/godort/awardscommittee and send submissions to the Awards Committee Chair, Dominique Hallett, at dhallett@astate.edu.

Nomination forms and letters of support for GODORT awards are due Sunday, December 1, 2020. Nominations for the Larry Romans Mentorship Award are due by December 30th. Rozkuszka scholarship applications are due by March 1, 2021.

Thank you,

GODORT Awards Committee

Margaret T. Lane / Virginia F. Saunders Memorial Research Award

The Margaret T. Lane / Virginia F. Saunders Memorial Research Award is given annually to an author or shared among collaborative authors of an outstanding research publication (i.e., books, articles, occasional papers) in which government documents, either published or archival in nature, form a substantial part of the documented research. Preference may be given to publications published in library literature, but the award is not restricted to publications in library literature.

James Bennett Childs Award

The James Bennett Childs Award is a tribute to an individual who has made a lifetime and significant contribution to the field of documents librarianship. The Award is based on stature, service, and publication which may be in any or all areas of documents librarianship. The award winner receives a plaque with a likeness of James Bennett Childs.

ProQuest/GODORT/ALA “Documents to the People” Award

The ProQuest/GODORT/ALA “Documents to the People” Award is a tribute to an individual, library, institution, or other non-commercial group that has most effectively encouraged the use of government documents in support of library service. The award includes a $3,000 cash stipend to be used to support a project of the recipient’s choice. This award is sponsored by ProQuest.

Bernadine Abbott Hoduski Founders Award

The Bernadine Abbott Hoduski Founders Award recognizes documents librarians who may not be known at the national level but who have made significant contributions to the field of state, international, local, or federal documents. This award recognizes those whose contributions have benefited not only the individual’s institution but also the profession. Achievements in state, international, or local documents librarianship will receive first consideration. The award winner receives a plaque.

NewsBank/Readex/GODORT/ALA Catharine J. Reynolds Research Grant

The NewsBank/Readex/GODORT/ALA Catharine J. Reynolds Award provides funding for research in the field of documents librarianship, or in a related area that would benefit the individual’s performance as a documents librarian or contribute to the field. This award, established in 1987, is named for Catharine J. Reynolds, former Head of Government Publications at the University of Colorado, Boulder. It is supported by an annual contribution of $2,000 from the NewsBank Inc.

W. David Rozkuszka Scholarship

The David Rozkuszka Scholarship provides financial assistance to an individual who is currently working with government documents in a library and is trying to complete a master’s degree in library science. This award, established in 1994, is named after David Rozkuszka, former Documents Librarian at Stanford University. The award winner receives $3,000. To apply, please visit http://www.ala.org/educationcareers/scholarships

Larry Romans Mentorship Award

The Larry Romans Mentorship Award is given annually by the Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) and the Rainbow Round Table (RRT) of the American Library Association. The purpose of the award is to recognize librarians who, through their sustained mentoring efforts, have made a difference in our profession. Each year, the award will honor a librarian who has demonstrated excellence in the area of mentoring, who has successfully encouraged others to serve as mentors, and who has impacted the lives and careers of others through tirelessly devoting time, energy, and talent toward helping others succeed in our profession. The award consists of a citation and $1,000. The award will be presented at the GODORT Awards Program at the ALA Annual Conference. In addition, recognition of the recipient will also take place at beginning of the Stonewall Book Awards Program held at the ALA Annual Conference. To apply, please visit http://www.ala.org/rt/glbtrt/award/larry-romans-nomination


  • There are currently no refbacks.

Copyright (c) 2020 American Library Association

© 2019 GODORT

ALA Privacy Policy